Father’s Day and Rupert the Bear

15 Jun
Rupert the Bear

Rupert the Bear

Father’s Day in Gimli. Rainy, windy and 14°. Oh well, its only June 15 after all. Why would I expect summer-like weather.

But it’s Father’s Day and I got gifts. I don’t know if there is an equivalent to the Easter Bunny so I have to assume they came from S-S. I can be pretty sharp sometimes. Any way, one of the gifts was a an edition of one of my favourite series of all time, Rupert the Bear.

What follows is a sad tale. As a child all I ever wanted was a Rupert the Bear book for Christmas. Everyone else got them but yours truly: little sister, little cousins, the kid in the flat next door. I’m sure you can feel my pain. Their libraries built up, mine remained empty. Later as a young adult with income of my own I was able to start a belated collection, only to lose it all in a house move. Oh the tragedy!

Over the years I have slowly re-built a small and increasing collection. Life is normalizing once again. If I am lucky I will have a reading supply for my dementia years when I revert to my childhood. I will also have collection of Arthur Ransome books, such as “Swallows and Amazons,” and another all time favourite , “Wind in the Willows.” More fun than “War and Peace.”

Life will be good, what I remember of it that is. With Rupert, even if I cannot read at least I can look at the pictures.

Leave a Reply

